FAQ  •  Search  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in
 PS3 Guide View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Lionheart
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 05 May 2008
Posts: 1469

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 3:56 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

This is the old guide .. a new one is in the works .. please download the latest version of xlink from here ..

http://www.teamxlink.co.uk/downloads.php




At last, I have this tutorial which is 100% guaranteed to work on your PS3 and Kai.

NOTE: Before we go any further, please make sure your 'Network' is 'Reachable' by checking the 'Magnifying glass'.

The diagnostic that shows Network Reachable must say YES


What you need to play is:

1. PS3 (Obviously)

2. PC running kai (version 7.3.1.7) with 2 network cards and configured with ICS (Internet Connection Sharing)

download
removed , use new version.

The network card settings (which is connected to the PS3) will only display the IP address and subnet mask:
Image

3. Internet connection (wireless or wired)
*** NOTE *** It doesn't matter if you use a jailbroken PS3 or original game discs.

Goto Configure Kai and choose the network card which is connected to the PS3.

If the configuration is not correct you will see this:

Image
Image

Make a test connection to your PS3, it should show a connection error (Error 80710102) This means that it is okay. You must leave all options set to automatic.

*** NOTE *** If after this you cannot connect with other users, it's because you probably have some kind of game update saved on the hard disk of your console.

To resolve this, goto "tool saved games" on the PS3 system and delete game updates.

This is the list of games tested on XLink Kai with this method:

-Warhawk
-Formula 1 2006
-Blur
-Formula 1 2010 (Be sure to disable the AutoSave)
-Dirt1 and Dirt2
-Ferrari Challenge
-COD 4 (Modern Warfare)
-COD 4 (Modern warfare2)
-COD 5 (World at War)
-OFP: Operation Flash Point
-Borderlans
-Red-Dead Redemption

_________________
Image

http://es.teamxlink.co.uk/forum Ayuda en Espa´┐Żol
Lionheart@teamxlink.co.uk
View user's profileSend private message
J@hnny2g@@d
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 30 Oct 2010
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 7:24 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Hello Lionheart i told you id drop by lol ok i dont really have the time to make this Tutorial here because its big might make up one when i have some time this might help people out abit better the guys over in elotrolado know there stuff anyway here you go alls people need to do is run there translator on it hope it helps abit... Wink


Play Online With PS3 [XLink Kai: Evolution] >>> http://www.elotrolado.net/hilo_tutorial-para-jugar-online-con-ps3-xlink-kai-evolution_1504762

_________________
Image

Last edited by J@hnny2g@@d on Tue Nov 02, 2010 12:06 pm; edited 7 times in total
View user's profileSend private message
lazyhobobum
Kai Enthusiast
Kai Enthusiast


Joined: 05 Apr 2008
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 12:27 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Nice guide man. I would make it more explicitly clear though that you must have Xlink Kai running on your PC before you turn on your PS3. Otherwise your PS3 will not get that network error and will try to connect to PSN.

_________________
ps2onlinegaming.com (site for ps2 online and ps2 LAN tunneling (Xlink Kai) game scheduling)

www.youtube.com/user/Lazyhoboguy

A List of All My Xlink Games: http://lazyhoboguy.webs.com/My%20Online%20Video%20Games.htm
View user's profileSend private message
J@hnny2g@@d
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 30 Oct 2010
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 12:41 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Yes it is Most important to have your PS3 powered off when you start XLink up then power the PS3 that is the key.. Wink

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private message
Raoul
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 12:46 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Hi guys. Thanks everybody for the efforts. Any chance of a similar guide for OSX? I downloaded the OSX-version, but the UI differs from the Win-version, in a way that i can't get it to work.
View user's profileSend private message
ghettokid653
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:44 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I followed this tut and can not seem to get the PS3 configured.
It will detect the MAC ID in blue. The MAC ID is listed on KAI I think, 1st 6 digits are A8E3EE
Network reachable: YES
Adapter LOCKED: Yes
KAI Version 7317 (also Tried Kai 7418)
Ports 30000 open, firewall configured (also disabled and no use)
Error message on PS3?:Yes
Game used? COD Black Ops (both ZOMBIE LAN and Network LAN)
PSN NOT SIGNED IN
PS3 FW: Version 3.55 (PSN enabled)
I have tried static IP on PS3 like the PS2 for the PS2 and changed the subnet, still no good
I have also tried to let the PS3 find the NIC card automatically, that didn't work.
I tried network bridge and that didn't work
Anyone know what maybe I am doing wrong?

These were my set ups:
1) PS3 to PC via Cat5 cable. PC to Router Via Cat 5(Shared and Bridged)
2)PS3 to Router Via Cat 5 PC to Router Via Cat 5
3) PS3 to PC Via Crossover cable PC to Router Via Crossover(shared and bridged)
PS3 DMZ Enabled for all connections and disabled
DHCP enabled and disabled for all connections
Static and dynamic IP's used.

So this is my conclusion:
I don't think No one else that I tried to connect to has PS3 FW 3.55.
Kai doesn't show configured for NONE of the above set ups
I may be able to connect, just no one to test with.
Any one have more ideas?
View user's profileSend private message
ghettokid653
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 5:06 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Finally got PS3 to work on KAI using K.I.S.S
Set up:
PS3 connected to ROUTER
PC Connected to ROUTER
(Dual NIC NOT NEEDED)
PS3 Auto Network configuration WHILE KAI IS RUNNING 1ST (no need to restart KAI or PS3, at least not for me)
Ps3 will Display IP 10.253.??.??
PS3 Subnet: 255.255.0.0
DNS Error may NOT show
XLINK KAI 7.3.1.7: Shows Just MAC ID in Blue (Does NOT show
configured)
PS3: OFW 3.56 (Not JB'ed)
Game: Black Ops: Zombie LAN MODE and FFA
Don't know why this didn't work before, once again, maybe no one to connect to...but it works now!!
View user's profileSend private message
Raoul
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:02 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Thanks for the info ghettokid653. Just wondering: why would you want to play on Xlink when you're on OFW?
View user's profileSend private message
ghettokid653
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:04 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Easily answered;
I like to play games.
And I like having options, like who knows when PSN will begin charging for online play?
And last but not least..........Why Not play on kai? It is a very good program for system link games + I like tinkering with stuff.
I would also like to point out the PS2, servers for games are going away, at least with KAI, I can still play them, like Jak X, TSFP, ATV's, etc.
If KAI is still up when PSN takes down online servers, we can still play online with SOME games.
View user's profileSend private message
otten4
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 18 Feb 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 12:19 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Just a question in between. Can anyone confirm that this is running with:

PS3 FW3.55 OFW (unmodified)
KAID : 7.4.18 / 7.3.1.7

I had no success with this.

Are there some combinations which may not work.. maybe compatibility issues ?

Best regards,
Frank

_________________
-------------------------------
PS3 320GB , FW 3.50 OFW
XLINK, not successsful configured, working on it.
My HELP request :http://www.teamxlink.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=41512
View user's profileSend private message
ghettokid653
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 4:14 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I'm sure it works with 3.55, but you need kai version 7.3.1.7
View user's profileSend private message
Onlysafonne
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 18 Mar 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 7:08 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I can not get this to work fully 100%

I will give details but I need help.

I have a wireless card connected to network.

I have CAT5 from desktop to PS3.

I have ICS enabled form wifi nic to lan nic.

All is fine in xlink network reachable and locked on my ethernet adapter.

start cod zombies lan, i see not host & cant host with members.

&&&& Then

I bridge wifi nic and lan nic.

I configured to xlink to see my ethernet and then mac bridge.

started kai both time with it configured looking at my ethernet adapter and mac bridge and xlink still shows network reachable and locked and finds my ps3.

i then can host and some ppl can join my game.

but i still cant join games.

I tried this with and without the updates. No go. Thanks For any help moderators.

using old xlink kai,running as admin,windows xp sp2 compatibility.
View user's profileSend private message
ghettokid653
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:47 am Reply with quoteBack to top

You can only play if you are the host?

Which CFW/OFW on the PS3 do youn have? Maybe if your FW is different than those you are trying to connect to that may be a problem.

Did you try setting your PS3 in your router to DMZ, port forward BOTH UDP and TCP and the same for your firewall?
(TCP isn't needed I don't think, I just do it anyway)
View user's profileSend private message
JACK-THIS1
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 30 Apr 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2011 7:16 am Reply with quoteBack to top

TX_Lionheart wrote:
At last, I have this tutorial which is 100% guaranteed to work on your PS3 and Kai.

NOTE: Before we go any further, please make sure your 'Network' is 'Reachable' by checking the 'Magnifying glass'.

The diagnostic that shows Network Reachable must say YES

[/b]


How do you configure the network reachable to yes? mine says not yet.
View user's profileSend private message
Weeze6969
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 30 Apr 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:29 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Quote:
How do you configure the network reachable to yes? mine says not yet.


This could be due to several reasons.

1.Make sure you have ICS on the right adapter and the IP and Subnet is setup for the NIC card the PS3 is plugging into.
2. Make sure you ports are forwarded. Go here if you dont know how to. http://portforward.com/
3. Check your network settings on the PS3 and make sure you went to "Custom" and then click Wired Connection and then click "Automatically" through all of the settings.
4. Now turn off the PS3 and turn on kai and wait for it to load up.
5. Turn on the PS3 and you should get a DNS error 80710102. Thats Normal.

You should then see that you are reachable by the network!
View user's profileSend private message
KingChaos
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 25 May 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2011 7:10 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Just wonder:

In my network status on PS3 I got the following:


IP 10.253.159.24
Sub 255.255.0.0
Router 0.0.0.0
DNS 192.168.0.1

Is the router and DNS right?

Also my pc is on 10.99.10.X - Is the PS3 IP righth then?

No problem conecting my PS3 to Xlink, (MAC is blue) but don't seems to be able to host / connect. Tried with a friend and we can't find eachother ingame. Can see eachother fine in xlink, and in same arena. Ping is about 20 ms so that should not be the problem.
View user's profileSend private message
ghettokid653
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2011 3:31 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Yes that is right.

Are you on wireless? If yes, it might work, but it is better to have the PS3 wire to router.

Your IP on the PC should not matter for KAI to work.

If you have a firewall running, turn it off.

Check if your PS3 MAC id is in the list on KAI

Set your PS3 to DMZ in your router (this helps)

If you are using PSSDK, try switching to Winpcapp
View user's profileSend private message
Snaydher
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 02 May 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 4:41 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

New version released (7.4.22). Now with better support to PS3. Still waiting for MacOS version... Sad

Update first post please!!
View user's profileSend private message
Nobody10336
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 20 May 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 6:40 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Snaydher wrote:
New version released (7.4.22). Now with better support to PS3. Still waiting for MacOS version... Sad

Still waiting for linux version that's really support ps3 Confused
View user's profileSend private message
ghettokid653
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 11:13 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Setup for 7.4.22 is the same as 7.3.1.7 (For Windows XP and VISTA)
Each player just needs to have to same version of the game
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Theme by Daz :: All times are GMT