FAQ  •  Search  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in
 Cant get PC to recognize my xbox View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicThis topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Author Message
DoMC
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 14 Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Location: Mexico

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 10:21 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Is your network reachable? Yes
Are you using a port-forward? Donīt know
Is your console being detected? No
Brief description of your network setup: Com21 DOXPort DP1110 modem connected to pc trough LAN cable
Do you use a software firewall? What brand? Have you made any changes to it? No
Operating System? Windows XP SP1
Problem description? I canīt get my PC to recognize my xbox, when I try to use system link on my xbox, all I get is a "connect to an active xbox network"

[KaiUserConfig]
kaiUsername=DoMC
kaiPassword=**********
kaiPort=0
kaiDeepPort=0
kaiAccept=LOCAL
kaiTimeout=NOUI
kaiNIC=0
kaiLaunch=BOTH
kaiHomebrew=OFF
kaiPAT=OFF
kaiAutoLogin=ON
kaiAllowBadNICS=OFF
kaiWireless=
kaiUI=Default
View user's profileSend private message
[FUNK]
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 3354

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 10:23 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

What is the Xbox connected to so it can get online?

_________________
Funk!
View user's profileSend private message
DoMC
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 14 Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Location: Mexico

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 10:33 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

My xbox is connected to a PC that is running Xlink Kai Engine, Iīm trying to get my xbox listed in the detected consoles section with the diagnostics tool, I start halo from my xbox, go to System Link, but the button is greyed out and when I click it, I get this message:
ATTENTION:
You canīt play System Link games without first connecting to an active network or Xbox console.
Could you help me out of this???
View user's profileSend private message
[FUNK]
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 3354

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 10:56 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Okay well Windows XP comes with a firewall enabled by default. Can you make sure that it is off and or set to allow XLink Kai traffic?

_________________
Funk!
View user's profileSend private message
dfunked
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 7005
Location: Australia - VIC

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 11:02 am Reply with quoteBack to top

DoMC wrote:
My xbox is connected to a PC that is running Xlink Kai Engine, Iīm trying to get my xbox listed in the detected consoles section with the diagnostics tool, I start halo from my xbox, go to System Link, but the button is greyed out and when I click it, I get this message:
ATTENTION:
You canīt play System Link games without first connecting to an active network or Xbox console.
Could you help me out of this???


You haven't plugged in your network properly otherwise you wouldn't get this. You use 2 NICS, so follow http://packetme.tk

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private message
DoMC
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 14 Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Location: Mexico

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 10:18 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Could you how can I know if the cable Iīm using is cross-over???
Thanks for the help, by the way.
View user's profileSend private message
DIE-HARD
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 2024
Location: USA - Utah

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 10:21 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

if you hold the cable ends in front of you and the colors match up it's a normal patch cable

if the green and orange are reversed, it's a crossover.

_________________
XLink Kai.
GLOBAL NETWORK GAMING
DIE-HARD @ teamxlink.co.uk
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteMSN Messenger
DoMC
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 14 Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Location: Mexico

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 10:40 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Ok, thanks, I guess thatīs the problem, so one last question, are these cross-over cables expensive???
View user's profileSend private message
DIE-HARD
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 2024
Location: USA - Utah

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 10:48 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

depends, super cheap if you make your own. Super expecnive if you buy a gaming crossover cable

best bet is to just go to your local hobby shop, be it radio shack or whatever and just pick up a cat5 crossover cable. Even some place like Home Depot will have it cheaper than a gaming store.

_________________
XLink Kai.
GLOBAL NETWORK GAMING
DIE-HARD @ teamxlink.co.uk
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteMSN Messenger
DoMC
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 14 Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Location: Mexico

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 1:18 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Ok, thanks again, tomorrow Iīll go to radio shack, meanwhile, I think this thread is solved.
View user's profileSend private message
TheDaddy



Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 0

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:24 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Cool - I'm setting this to "solved" - but feel free to reply if it doesn't work Smile

TD
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicThis topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Theme by Daz :: All times are GMT