FAQ  •  Search  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in
 Building kaid 7.0.0.7 in Ubuntu View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
SaMaHo
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:47 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

It runs! Very nice tutorial!

When I want to start I start two consoles. In one I run the engine by launch
sudo path/of/kai/kaid
In the other:
javaws http://jkaiui.sourceforge.net/downloads/jKaiUI.jnlp

this I make every time I wanna play. I hope that was the answer of your question "treadstone007"...
View user's profileSend private message
burn-x
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:17 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Great guide on how to get Kai and a Kai client running on Ubuntu. Works for me, but sadly beyond that I'm stuck. Here is what I've done:

1. Plug in Planex WiFi
2. Configure Planex:
Code:
sudo iwconfig <device name> mode Ad-Hoc
sudo iwconfig <device name> channel 1

3. Enable Planex:
Code:
sudo ifconfig <device name> on

4. Start Kai engine
5. Start jKaiUI
6. Set PSP Ad-Hoc to channel 1
7. Host Ad-Hoc game (MHF2)

The problem I'm having is that Kai doesn't seem to be able to detect the Planex WiFi even though Ubuntu can and it is detecting the connection from the PSP (zero activity though). Check the screenshot:

Image

Another curious thing is that in Diagnostic Mode, the Hardware used is my LAN card and not Planex.

I hope this is enough information for someone to not only help me, but others who have this similar problem. Thanks.

Update

Got it to work after a day from posting this.

To get the Kai client to detect and use the Planex WiFi instead of the local LAN card or other network devices, you'll need to edit the kaid.conf file in the etc directory:

Code:
sudo gedit /etc/kaid.conf


Simply replace the device name that is being used with the Planex device name (wlan0 for my case). To get its device name use:

Code:
iwconfig


You'll also notice that there are several ports values that are defined in the kaid.conf file. I opened every single one of them in my router to be on the safe side (TCP & UDP), though only one is actually required (port 2354)
View user's profileSend private message
Pinguliten
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:59 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Also having problems with my planex network adapter using kubuntu 7.10. Running it on a laptop with the planex as wlan1 and changed the config accordingly. Couldn't do any of the changes until I turned off the card in KNetworkManager. "Sudo ifconfig wlan1 on" didn't work, "sudo ifconfig wlan1 up" froze the computer completly. Could it be that the network manager causes this when I suddenly enable the planex again in AdHoc mode?
View user's profileSend private message
millgiass
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 26 Feb 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2008 6:07 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Um everything worked up till step 25... and it said... "No engines found" "Sorry no engines could be detected."
View user's profileSend private message
jamie-cream
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 09 Jun 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 1:11 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

how can i fix this error?
craig@craig-laptop:~$ /usr/lib/jvm/java-6-sun-1.6.0.06/jre/bin/javaws http://jkaiui.sourceforge.net/downloads/jKaiUI.jnlp 
Java Web Start splash screen process exiting .....
Bad installation. No JRE found in configuration file: No such file or directory
craig@craig-laptop:~$ 

will be a big help if you can tell me.
thanks Smile
View user's profileSend private message
CrunchBite
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 2317

PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 10:13 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

You don't have the Java Runtime Environment (JRE) installed, after you install it you should be good to go Razz
View user's profileSend private message
PSPMANUX
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 10:12 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

ok I vote that this tread should be on the archive section because this Kaid is not usable anymore, we got now the Kaiengine that works on Linux.

New users like me get confused and install this kaid and gkaiUI (done it) and is not worth it cuz is not longer needed -_-...

Thanks
PSPMANUX
View user's profileSend private message
mrmrmrmr
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 12 Oct 2008
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 6:55 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

where can I find the latest sources ?
after compiling , do I need graphical interface for just running kai engine (not the UI) ?
View user's profileSend private message
CrunchBite
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 2317

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 9:47 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

The new kai engine (7.4.18 ) requires a graphical interface to run (though the final version will work on gui-less pc's). The engine source is not going to be released.
View user's profileSend private message
mrmrmrmr
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 12 Oct 2008
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:39 am Reply with quoteBack to top

then shall we be able to run guiless kaiengine on a Linux PC ?
View user's profileSend private message
CrunchBite
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 2317

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:54 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Once the new engine is out of beta, a version for gui-less pc's will be produced.
View user's profileSend private message
mrmrmrmr
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 12 Oct 2008
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 5:50 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

thanks for your reply.
in this case I will remove the current kaid on my Linux box and win32 GUI.
when new kaiengine (without GUI) is released I can install it on my linux box and use it with win32 GUI.

How can I get informed of the release of kaiengine ?

is there a mailing list for it ?
View user's profileSend private message
CrunchBite
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 2317

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 8:53 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

There will be a news post on the team xlink home page. http://teamxlink.co.uk/
View user's profileSend private message
archman
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 9:38 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Guys, kai engine runs successfully, i run java also without problems.
THe problem is, it always reads "establishing link" under my name in arena

i am connected to the psp, on ip 10.0.0.1 Ad-Hoc ch1.

What is the problem?
View user's profileSend private message
CrunchBite
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 2317

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 9:55 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

You probably need to portforward. http://www.teamxlink.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=27932
View user's profileSend private message
archman
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 11:17 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Thank you, I will try that now.
But I'm a little lost with the order. What do I need to do?
First bringing my card in the Ad-Hoc ch1? Connecting with network-manager to the psp (when i host a game on the psp (Wipeout Pure))?
The first of all is port forwarding?
When do I start the engine?
View user's profileSend private message
StyLu
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 01 Nov 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 6:51 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

You'll need to remove the "-static" part from the "Makefile" or else you'll end up with:
Code:
./kaid
KAID: Kai Engine for Linux is initialising...
kaid: ../sysdeps/unix/sysv/linux/getpagesize.c:32: __getpagesize: Assertion `_rtld_global_ro._dl_pagesize != 0' failed


Just make the variable empty like:

IPKG = /home/luis/devel/Kai/ipkg
PRE_CFLAGS = -D_REENTRANT -DPLATFORM_$(PLATFORM) -DVERSION=\"$(VERSION)\"
STATIC =
View user's profileSend private message
VenimK
Kai Regular
Kai Regular


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 6:59 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

StyLu wrote:
You'll need to remove the "-static" part from the "Makefile" or else you'll end up with:
Code:
./kaid
KAID: Kai Engine for Linux is initialising...
kaid: ../sysdeps/unix/sysv/linux/getpagesize.c:32: __getpagesize: Assertion `_rtld_global_ro._dl_pagesize != 0' failed


Just make the variable empty like:

IPKG = /home/luis/devel/Kai/ipkg
PRE_CFLAGS = -D_REENTRANT -DPLATFORM_$(PLATFORM) -DVERSION=\"$(VERSION)\"
STATIC =


friend please look at the date of post Posted: Thu 17 February 2009 a year ago

_________________
http://www.youtube.com
http://www.teamxlink.co.uk
http://www.habbo.net
View user's profileSend private message
VenimK
Kai Regular
Kai Regular


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:03 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

please read this before posting http://www.teamxlink.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=27735 Wink

_________________
http://www.youtube.com
http://www.teamxlink.co.uk
http://www.habbo.net
View user's profileSend private message
anunakin
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 19 Feb 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 7:36 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Cant found kaid-7.0.0.7-src.tar.gz, any have a mirror?
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN MessengerICQ Number
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Theme by Daz :: All times are GMT