FAQ  •  Search  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in
 Why should I set my status to 'Hosting'? View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicThis topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Author Message
shadowace
Team XLink Moderator
Team XLink Moderator


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 309

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 7:56 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

There are a million stories about this going all over Kai and frankly it is causing a lot of apparent 'technical issues' that are really not issues at all.

YOU MUST SET YOUR STATUS TO HOST IF YOU ARE HOSTING A GAME ON THE CONSOLE.

Once Kai hits a certain bandwith usage it stops tunneling to new users. So people coming into the arena will simply not see the game. Kai won't tunnel it to them. This also is the explanation for the complaints of getting dropped from a game and then not being able to see it to rejoin.?

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private message
DIE-HARD
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 2024
Location: USA - Utah

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 8:00 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Yup Smile

saves bandwith for hogs like halo.

Once the game starts it creates enough traffic to trigger kai to stop tunneling to new IP's

so basicaly it is the 4 of you in a game. If there is LAG, it is one of the 4 that is causing it.

on the other hand newer games like R63 you should set you status to Hosting because you still want people to be able to join the game after it has been started, also since bandwith doesnt have much of a negative effect on newer games, it's nice to keep your game visable to everyone in the arena! Then you won't have poeple going I CANT SEE THE GAME when there are 11 players already ingame.

_________________
XLink Kai.
GLOBAL NETWORK GAMING
DIE-HARD @ teamxlink.co.uk
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteMSN Messenger
DIE-HARD
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 2024
Location: USA - Utah

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 8:43 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Bumpitty Bump! Smile

_________________
XLink Kai.
GLOBAL NETWORK GAMING
DIE-HARD @ teamxlink.co.uk
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteMSN Messenger
Halo-2
Kai Lover
Kai Lover


Joined: 24 May 2004
Posts: 682

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 10:02 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

so even if you are looking for ganes in halo you still put host?

_________________
=]
View user's profileSend private message
taz
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 1871

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 10:09 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

no, just the host sets themselves as host, if your looking set it as looking.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
[MF]Tr1pleThr34t
Kai Admirer
Kai Admirer


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 390

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 10:21 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Maybe this should be a sticky. Wink
View user's profileSend private message
[FUNK]
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 3354

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 10:30 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

[MF]Tr1pleThr34t wrote:
Maybe this should be a sticky. Wink


Done Wink

_________________
Funk!
View user's profileSend private message
DIE-HARD
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 2024
Location: USA - Utah

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 10:22 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Also... DO NOT SET YOUR STATUS TO HOSTING IF YOU HAVE POOR UPLOAD BANDWITH.

The limiter will allow you to play a 2-4 player game and that is all you can handle.

If your hosting here are my recomendations. (no these are not required but if you don't want to hear people complain Wink well you know the story)
4+ xbox's i recomend your upload be at min 512 up
10+ xbox's i recomend nothing less than 1000 up
12+ xbox's I envy you because you probably have 1500 or greater upload bandwith.

DO NOT HOST UNLESS YOU CAN HANDLE IT!
or if you do, play in a private arena.

_________________
XLink Kai.
GLOBAL NETWORK GAMING
DIE-HARD @ teamxlink.co.uk
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteMSN Messenger
[H8D]Zorkon
Kai Enthusiast
Kai Enthusiast


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 292
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2004 8:53 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I only have kaid for teh Lunix and use Avalaunch to go into arenas. Sometimes I host games, sometimes I don't. How do I go about changing this setting from Avalaunch or kaid?
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN MessengerICQ Number
dfunked
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 7005
Location: Australia - VIC

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2004 11:31 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

No idea how do you it in Avalaunch, or if you can yet.

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private message
[H8D]Zorkon
Kai Enthusiast
Kai Enthusiast


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 292
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 12:41 am Reply with quoteBack to top

What about XBMC? I'm using... 1.1 I think. I don't update to every CVS version, usually only once in a while. I could use that, but I have a lot of my games on the hard drive, as it's more convenient, and when I go to play it asks me to put the game in. I'll have to set it up somehow that it lists my games there. I know you can do it, but I like XBMC for the media stuff, not for launching my games.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN MessengerICQ Number
dfunked
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 7005
Location: Australia - VIC

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 12:50 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Get yourself the latest CVS then and set the autoplay options - it's been there for a few CVS builds now.

And no more help in this thread if you don't mind Very Happy

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private message
(-TU-)-Mortj109-
Kai Spammer
Kai Spammer


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 8681

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 4:27 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Read this
http://www.teamxlink.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=146984
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicThis topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Theme by Daz :: All times are GMT