FAQ  •  Search  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in
 Wifi MAX - Vista Fix - for disappearing ZyDAS View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
AlexCory
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 10 Nov 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:48 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Hi everyone, I managed to figure out how to connect my ZyDAS drivers properly using windows vista. It all revolves around compatability mode, although I know some of you might not be as computer literate as I am, anyway point being I thought I'd post a step by step process of how to get the drivers working.

FOR WINDOWS VISTA USERS ONLY!!!
WIFI MAX DONGLE REQUIRED!!!

1. unplug the wifi MAX if it is plugged in and uninstall any pre-existing ZyDAS drivers.
2. download the drivers mentioned in the sticky note of this website(BUT DO NOT INSTALL THEM YET):
ZD1211BWinPkgS_6_17_0_0_ALL.exe

3. right click on the ZD1211BWinPkgS_6_17_0_0_ALL.exe file and select the compatability tab.(as shown in the below image) check the "Run this program in..." box and select something in the dropdown (I used windows 2000). Also check the run as administrator checkbox.
Image

4. now double click and install the drivers like you would normally.

5. once installed, plugin the wifi MAX dongle and allow the drivers to be picked up automatically.

If you setup the settings correctly, you will see the ZD+ icon in the taskbar now.(see image below)
Image

5. from here you can just go through the tutorial found on the sticky:
Wifi MAX/XLink Kai Setup Guide v2.0

that sticky has been very reliable to me for connecting any ad hoc PSP game to the wifi dongle.

NOTE: for those that can't get XLink KAI to run because of a PSSDK error, you need to right click it and select "Run as Administrator". Or use the compatability mode and check the "Run as Administrator" checkbox. (NOTE for XLink KAI: If you check the checkbox, you do not need to check the "run this program in..." checkbox, as Kai still runs on vista OK.)

Hope this helps! CHEERS!

--AlexCory

*admins, please sticky this if you think this is helpful.
View user's profileSend private message
Dan_Dan_Esteban
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 24 Nov 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 2:11 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Bump. Getting wifi max monday or tuesday and I have Windows Vista, so I may run into this problem. Is this problem guarenteed to happen to anyone with Vista?

_________________
Pronounced "DonDon" after the name Adan (spanish for Adam)

8 =ll
View user's profileSend private message
-Ricochet-
PSP Guru
PSP Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2007
Posts: 2380

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 2:25 am Reply with quoteBack to top

yes, and if it doesnt, im sorry
View user's profileSend private message
corsairnoir
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 6:47 am Reply with quoteBack to top

can't wait to hear more feedback about this because I'm using (crappy @ss) vista and want to be able to use wifi max
View user's profileSend private message
-Ricochet-
PSP Guru
PSP Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2007
Posts: 2380

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 6:49 am Reply with quoteBack to top

you can run wifi max on a vista
View user's profileSend private message
zealofsoul
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 28 Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Location: USA - California

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:27 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Ok so since I use Vista, too, I followed every step on the instruction above, and succeeded on poping ZD+ icon on the bottom left.

now I installed Kai and I had no problem in configuration, and now the problem seems like Kai is not detecting my PSP.

My option is set up on exactly like this:

Kai port: 0
Kai Deep port: 0
Enable PAT/Launch UI/Launch Engine/XBox Homebrew: *check what you want
applied -- see help for information on each*
(I personally have only the Launch UI and Launch Engine checked for this
process)

NETWORK ADAPTER: (ZD1211B)IEEE 802.11 b+g(US) *make sure the "Show
Dangerous NICs" box below is checked*
Default XTag(Username): *your username*
Default Password: *your password* *checking the "auto-login" is optional*
CLOSE ENGINE AFTER: Never
ACCEPT UI CONNECTIONS FROM: Any IP Address



any ideas???
View user's profileSend private messageAIM AddressMSN Messenger
-Ricochet-
PSP Guru
PSP Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2007
Posts: 2380

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:51 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

follow psp SSID?
View user's profileSend private message
dMemphiz
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 21 Dec 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 10:08 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Well i did everything you did! but when i click the ZDWlan utility it says wireless LAN is controlled by the windows Zero Configuration! Any help?
View user's profileSend private message
(-TU-)-Corndog-
Kai Lover
Kai Lover


Joined: 14 Aug 2007
Posts: 799

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:15 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

dMemphiz wrote:
Well i did everything you did! but when i click the ZDWlan utility it says wireless LAN is controlled by the windows Zero Configuration! Any help?


it means that the Windows Wireless Connection UI is controling the WiFi adapter use that if you want its on your tool bar

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
dharsam
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2007 5:48 am Reply with quoteBack to top

just asking when i try to install it to my laptop xlinkai cant be detected do someone here have dis kind of problem? im using windows vista....can dis be installed on a lap top need help
View user's profileSend private message
vrless
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 09 Aug 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 2:52 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

(-TU-)-Corndog- wrote:
dMemphiz wrote:
Well i did everything you did! but when i click the ZDWlan utility it says wireless LAN is controlled by the windows Zero Configuration! Any help?


it means that the Windows Wireless Connection UI is controling the WiFi adapter use that if you want its on your tool bar


i have the same problem..
i even look at some tips at the other website about disabling the "Wired Autoconfig" and "WLan autoconfig" on services.msc but it aint helping.. Sad
View user's profileSend private message
(-TU-)-Mortj109-
Kai Spammer
Kai Spammer


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 8681

PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 3:58 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

http://www.teamxlink.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=33463
Follow that
View user's profileSend private message
{UNBU}Cadetdude
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 10 Aug 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2008 5:24 am Reply with quoteBack to top

i tried this when i try to install the drivers it fails >.>
View user's profileSend private message
marcos75
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 4:20 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Install the 6.17 drivers and run it with windows 2000 compatibility mode
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Theme by Daz :: All times are GMT