FAQ  •  Search  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in
 Kai and loading games from hard drive, PLEASE HELP! View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
kane_au
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 20 Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Location: Australia - VIC

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 3:32 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Hi

I've got Kai working on XBMC and im very excited

I want to play Halo2 over kai, but its on my hard drive so there is my problem. I can see the game channels for Halo2, but when i enter into them is says insert halo 2 cd

Is there a way to get it to load?

Any help will do

thanks guys
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo MessengerMSN Messenger
dfunked
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 7005
Location: Australia - VIC

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:11 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Add 1 to the count. Seriously this is the *MOST* asked question on these forums LOL.

Yes, just load the game as you normally would. Use search button next time.

Moving to General Help.

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private message
captin_Morgan
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 11 Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Location: USA - Missouri

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 5:22 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Yup the most asked question, and still no one has produced a simple list of "click here, the select this, then execute this ....." I think this could be as simple as 10 steps.

Anyway I'm still trying to figure this out as I can launch the game I just cant see any games when I go into system link mode. If you want to know how to launch the game, simply hit "back" on the xbox controller until you are at the main screen of xbms, go to files and select the drive with your game , and then execute the games default.xbe.

If you figure out how to see system link games please let me know. As soon as I figure this out I plan on documenting a simple list of what to do to play games from xbmc as I do not think it is documented anywere.

Hope this helps.
View user's profileSend private message
3xodus
Kai Enthusiast
Kai Enthusiast


Joined: 07 Jun 2004
Posts: 285

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 5:27 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

captin_Morgan wrote:
...I plan on documenting a simple list of what to do to play games from xbmc as I do not think it is documented anywere.

I just noticed Funk posted this -
http://dday.tx-shells.net/QuickGuide-XLink_XBMC-.pdf Smile

_________________
3xodus
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
captin_Morgan
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 11 Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Location: USA - Missouri

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 8:02 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

3xodus,

thanks for posting that guide....if only it had 4 or so more steps so we could actually see how to start the game and find the system link games in progress.

Good stuff though!!!
View user's profileSend private message
runtime
Team XLink Retired XBMC Admin
Team XLink Retired XBMC Admin


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 160
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 9:12 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

In the future expect more improvements from myself and TD to address the issues discussed so far. We will offer more automation when it comes to playing games, and similarly we will do more to help you tell when a syslink game is in progress; players with headsets etc.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
dukeuk76
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 4059

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 10:18 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

looking forward to that! Very Happy

_________________
Kai/Psn/Xbl/steam/: dukeuk76
View user's profileSend private message
jmel
Kai Admirer
Kai Admirer


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 363
Location: USA - North Carolina

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 11:58 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

3xodus wrote:
captin_Morgan wrote:
...I plan on documenting a simple list of what to do to play games from xbmc as I do not think it is documented anywere.

I just noticed Funk posted this -
http://dday.tx-shells.net/QuickGuide-XLink_XBMC-.pdf Smile


a bit slow if you just noticed it Very Happy

its plastered on the main page too Very Happy

thank puma and juice for the guide.

I host it also.

_________________
Image
TeamXLink Crew - My XLink Profile
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
davidadrake
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 27 Sep 2004
Posts: 3
Location: USA - Oregon

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:48 am Reply with quoteBack to top

if you are using the 11-15 build with project mayhem II skin, go into "settings-->general-->kai" and for games directory enter the location on hard drive(CASE SENSITIVE -- very important) this will enable you to be able to just run the game by just hitting the "play" button. Wink
View user's profileSend private message
dukeuk76
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 4059

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:14 am Reply with quoteBack to top

try putting F:\games instead of F:/games. that worked for me.

_________________
Kai/Psn/Xbl/steam/: dukeuk76
View user's profileSend private message
dfunked
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 7005
Location: Australia - VIC

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:34 am Reply with quoteBack to top

/ is Unix directory listing, \ is MS-DOS (XBox).

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private message
DoctorA
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 17 Oct 2004
Posts: 22
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 12:12 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

duke_uk wrote:
try putting F:\games instead of F:/games. that worked for me.


mine was cured by changing from [f:\games to f:\Games] a simple correct case problem halo2 loads fine now straight from drive thanks all..
Confused

well halo 2 did but ghost recon 2 wont?
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
dfunked
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 7005
Location: Australia - VIC

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 1:05 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Ghost Recon 2 won't because we don't have the XBE ID for it.

See http://www.teamxlink.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3745

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private message
unicornz
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 16 Aug 2004
Posts: 21
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 8:26 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

dfunked wrote:
Ghost Recon 2 won't because we don't have the XBE ID for it.

See http://www.teamxlink.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3745


emailed to you now
View user's profileSend private messageMSN Messenger
ViolentA79
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 1
Location: USA - New York

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 5:12 am Reply with quoteBack to top

duke_uk wrote:
try putting F:\games instead of F:/games. that worked for me.


Duke, you are the friggin man!! My slash was the wrong way, you made my night!!
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM Address
CubFan
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 25
Location: USA - Illinois

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 8:52 am Reply with quoteBack to top

How do you enter the drive destination?...I can't find a "/" or ":" on the pop-up keyboard, or am i just stupid???
View user's profileSend private message
dfunked
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 7005
Location: Australia - VIC

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 9:16 am Reply with quoteBack to top

*WHY* are people trying to enter entries in Unix directory listing ie '/'

It's '\', make no mistake. Press the little '@' button (it's near SHIFT if I remember). It brings up the symbols on the OSK.

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private message
CubFan
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 25
Location: USA - Illinois

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 7:49 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

yeah, sorry...that's what i meant... \

found it now, thanks...works like a charm. Is there now a way to get back to XBMC from the game once it's loaded this way?? I don't have XBMC as my dash...

Laughing
View user's profileSend private message
dfunked
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 7005
Location: Australia - VIC

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 3:07 am Reply with quoteBack to top

IGR if you have it - most bioses do. I've set XBMC as my dash though now Smile

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private message
CubFan
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 25
Location: USA - Illinois

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 7:35 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

dfunked wrote:
IGR if you have it - most bioses do.


What's IGR?? (sorry if that's a dumb ?) I'm using evoxM8 btw...if that matters...

I may end up just making XBMC by dash, but with new builds coming out seemingly everyday, i don't really want to keep updating my dash accordingly...PLUS, i'm an Avalaunch loyalist (just waiting for them to integrate KAI...)
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Theme by Daz :: All times are GMT