FAQ  •  Search  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in
 Unknown error crashing kai engine. View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
[MRC]Link1275
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 10:19 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Every time I go to run kai it tells me:
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'boost::system::system_error'
what(): Host not found (authoritative)
Does anyone know what's needed to fix this? Thanks in advance.
View user's profileSend private message
karmic
Kai Regular
Kai Regular


Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 10:50 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Which Linux distribution, version and architecture?

_________________
XLinkKai on Linux ( http://www37.atwiki.jp/linux_kai/ )
View user's profileSend private message
[MRC]Link1275
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 4:32 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

karmic wrote:
Which Linux distribution, version and architecture?

Ubuntu, 12.04, i386(32 bit).
View user's profileSend private message
giggyprince
Team XLink Moderator
Team XLink Moderator


Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1206

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 8:31 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

It could be that the problem is the DNS lookup. This article might be of use to you--> http://www.stgraber.org/2012/02/24/dns-in-ubuntu-12-04/ I hope it will help you somehow.
View user's profileSend private message
[MRC]Link1275
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 8:50 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

giggyprince wrote:
It could be that the problem is the DNS lookup. This article might be of use to you--> http://www.stgraber.org/2012/02/24/dns-in-ubuntu-12-04/ I hope it will help you somehow.
Thank you for the help, but if it is related to DNS there's nothing telling me what kind of problem it is with the DNS in the error message. Also the message pops up immediately after the kai engine starts or right before it starts.
The engine has started
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'boost::system::system_error'
what(): Host not found (authoritative)
View user's profileSend private message
giggyprince
Team XLink Moderator
Team XLink Moderator


Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1206

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 9:19 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Try to flush the DNS

To flush the DNS cache in Linux, restart the nscd daemon:-
- To restart the nscd daemon, type
Code:
/etc/rc.d/init.d/nscd restart
in your terminal
- Once you run the command your linux DNS cache will flush.
View user's profileSend private message
[MRC]Link1275
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 9:30 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

giggyprince wrote:
Try to flush the DNS

To flush the DNS cache in Linux, restart the nscd daemon:-
- To restart the nscd daemon, type
Code:
/etc/rc.d/init.d/nscd restart
in your terminal
- Once you run the command your linux DNS cache will flush.

Are there any negative side effects to flushing your DNS cache?


Last edited by [MRC]Link1275 on Fri Jul 13, 2012 9:33 pm; edited 3 times in total
View user's profileSend private message
giggyprince
Team XLink Moderator
Team XLink Moderator


Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1206

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 9:32 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

No its setting it back to default. This method is used to repair DNS if it gets corrupted or damaged.
View user's profileSend private message
[MRC]Link1275
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 9:33 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

giggyprince wrote:
No its setting it back to default. This method is used to repair DNS if it gets corrupted or damaged.

For some reason the command doesn't appear to exist.
View user's profileSend private message
giggyprince
Team XLink Moderator
Team XLink Moderator


Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1206

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 9:34 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Try as root this one
Code:
sudo /etc/init.d/dns-clean
View user's profileSend private message
[MRC]Link1275
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 9:40 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

giggyprince wrote:
Try as root this one
Code:
sudo /etc/init.d/dns-clean

It looks like the code worked, however it didn't fix kai.
View user's profileSend private message
karmic
Kai Regular
Kai Regular


Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 11:06 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Link1275, can you capture the outputs of the following commands?
Code:
ifconfig
cat /etc/hostname
cat /etc/hosts
cat /etc/resolv.conf

_________________
XLinkKai on Linux ( http://www37.atwiki.jp/linux_kai/ )
View user's profileSend private message
[MRC]Link1275
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 11:11 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

karmic wrote:
Link1275, can you capture the outputs of the following commands?
Code:
ifconfig
cat /etc/hostname
cat /etc/hosts
cat /etc/resolv.conf

Yes,
ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:24:e8:f8:cd:8a
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:40 Base address:0xe000

eth2 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 78:e4:00:20:12:a0
inet addr:192.168.1.241 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::7ae4:ff:fe20:12a0/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:286232 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:9759327
TX packets:223995 errors:106 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:289181981 (289.1 MB) TX bytes:34423340 (34.4 MB)
Interrupt:17

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:15178 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:15178 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1396463 (1.3 MB) TX bytes:1396463 (1.3 MB)

tap0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 42:fe:ad:39:9f:16
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:500
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

cat /etc/hostname
link-Inspiron-1010
cat /etc/hosts
127.0.0.1 localhost
127.0.1.1 link-Inspiron-1010

# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
::1 ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
cat /etc/resolv.conf
# Dynamic resolv.conf(5) file for glibc resolver(3) generated by resolvconf(8 )
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE BY HAND -- YOUR CHANGES WILL BE OVERWRITTEN
nameserver 127.0.0.1
View user's profileSend private message
karmic
Kai Regular
Kai Regular


Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 12:18 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Link1275 wrote:
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:24:e8:f8:cd:8a
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:40 Base address:0xe000

eth2 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 78:e4:00:20:12:a0
inet addr:192.168.1.241 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::7ae4:ff:fe20:12a0/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:286232 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:9759327
TX packets:223995 errors:106 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:289181981 (289.1 MB) TX bytes:34423340 (34.4 MB)
Interrupt:17


Does your computer have two ethernet interfaces? That's weird.
If you are using Network Manager, can you capture screenshots of the following lists?
- Wired tab screen in Network Manager
- IPv4 Settings tab screen of Wired Connection

_________________
XLinkKai on Linux ( http://www37.atwiki.jp/linux_kai/ )
View user's profileSend private message
[MRC]Link1275
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 12:28 am Reply with quoteBack to top

karmic wrote:
Link1275 wrote:
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:24:e8:f8:cd:8a
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:40 Base address:0xe000

eth2 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 78:e4:00:20:12:a0
inet addr:192.168.1.241 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::7ae4:ff:fe20:12a0/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:286232 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:9759327
TX packets:223995 errors:106 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:289181981 (289.1 MB) TX bytes:34423340 (34.4 MB)
Interrupt:17


Does your computer have two ethernet interfaces? That's weird.
If you are using Network Manager, can you capture screenshots of the following lists?
- Wired tab screen in Network Manager
- IPv4 Settings tab screen of Wired Connection

Yes my netbook does have two ethernet interfaces, a wireless one and a wired one. However the wired one I hardly use. Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

_________________
Image

I love this sig.
View user's profileSend private message
karmic
Kai Regular
Kai Regular


Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 3:35 am Reply with quoteBack to top

After disabling eth0 temporarily, try to start kaiengine:
Code:
sudo ifconfig eth0 down
sudo ./kaiengine

_________________
XLinkKai on Linux ( http://www37.atwiki.jp/linux_kai/ )
View user's profileSend private message
[MRC]Link1275
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 3:49 am Reply with quoteBack to top

karmic wrote:
After disabling eth0 temporarily, try to start kaiengine:
Code:
sudo ifconfig eth0 down
sudo ./kaiengine

Unfortunately that doesn't appear to be the problem however I tried sudo ifconfig eth2 down and I got this message(which probably says that I don't have a connection): "kaiengine: ../../src/xcb_io.c:253: poll_for_event: Assertion `dpy->xcb->event_owner == XlibOwnsEventQueue && !dpy->xcb->event_waiter' failed." .

_________________
Image

I love this sig.
View user's profileSend private message
karmic
Kai Regular
Kai Regular


Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 5:58 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Can you connect your computer to your router via a network cable?

_________________
XLinkKai on Linux ( http://www37.atwiki.jp/linux_kai/ )
View user's profileSend private message
[MRC]Link1275
Kai Beginner
Kai Beginner


Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 3:22 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

karmic wrote:
Can you connect your computer to your router via a network cable?

No, as I don't have access to a cable(not for another week or two anyways).

_________________
Image

I love this sig.
View user's profileSend private message
giggyprince
Team XLink Moderator
Team XLink Moderator


Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1206

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:31 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Just a suggestion open your "/etc/resolv.conf file" and enter those 2 IPs
Code:
$ sudo vi /etc/resolv.conf

=> 208.67.222.222
=> 208.67.220.220

those 2 IPs are Free DNS Server they might be a workaround on your problem
source--> http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/free-dns-server/
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Theme by Daz :: All times are GMT