FAQ  •  Search  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in
 XLink Kai 7.4 Skinning Thread. View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
[DC][)ragonfire
Kai Spammer
Kai Spammer


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1219

PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2008 6:28 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Since gamer has helped me find where the skins r stored, if u want, they r stored in C:/Documents and Settings/(user)/Application Data/XLink Kai.

From there u should be able to find the two folders in which the skins r held.

This thread is for 7.4 skins discussion and releases.

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private message
[OG]-Anarchy-
Kai Admirer
Kai Admirer


Joined: 20 Jun 2007
Posts: 487

PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:51 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

i'm having a problem testing out the skin, as in seeing my changes that i have made

someone help?

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private message
-SA-[Krayzie]
Kai Regular
Kai Regular


Joined: 22 Aug 2007
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2008 10:34 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Yea same, I rename it to legendary.zip and still the one legend made shows up.

_________________
Image
KaiPlaysHere - Organized Competitive Gaming
Currently Running Halo 2 (1v1, 2v2 & 4v4) Ladders
www.sexyclan.net/league
View user's profileSend private message
[DC][)ragonfire
Kai Spammer
Kai Spammer


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1219

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 12:19 am Reply with quoteBack to top

try this....

have kai running, then overwrite a skin with a replacement one (urs), then go on kai and Ctrl + F5 to hard refresh the page (clearing ur cache)

Right now i have a skin almost done and currently working on a webui to accompany it. Very Happy

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private message
prestige
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 03 May 2004
Posts: 2075

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 3:25 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I am still working on some formal skin documentation but I hate to be the bottleneck in anyone's plans to make a skin so here's a quick how-to get started (assuming you are running windows):

First, start off by creating an 'htdocs' sub-folder in your c:\program files\xlink kai folder

Extract an existing skin .zip archive from your applications folder into the htdocs folder you just created. (ex: "C:\Documents and Settings\Your_Username\Application Data\XLink Kai\legendary.zip").

Start Kai with the --dev option from CMD as per:

cd "c:\program files\xlink kai"
kaiengine.exe --dev

Now connect to the web ui from your browser. To switch a skin, enter /skin skin_name. In the case of our example, the skin name is legendary.

So, now you can edit the skin.css file in c:\program files\xlink kai\htdocs\skins\legendary\skin.css. When you are done editing, just click refresh on your browser to see the changes.

Lastly, when you are done, zip skins folder you are working on and name it skin_name.zip where skin_name is whatever you've decided to call the skin. This .zip archive can then be added to the the Kai application directory (as mentioned above) and started using /skin skin_name.

-p

_________________
my signature goes here.
View user's profileSend private message
[DC][)ragonfire
Kai Spammer
Kai Spammer


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1219

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 4:06 am Reply with quoteBack to top

thx p for the advice and update, but one problem, i edited my webui a bit, and everytime it gets done loading, or almost, damn kai auto-updates and overwrites it, NOW could u plz tell me how to make an input box so that when that happens i have the option to overwrite or ignore?

o btw, that skin thing doesnt work for me, it just like refreshes my current css file Confused

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private message
-SA-[Krayzie]
Kai Regular
Kai Regular


Joined: 22 Aug 2007
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 4:35 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Yea ive found if you have a skin selected that isnt the one you edited, It gets overwritten. You can get a skin working by selecting a skin in the UI, Say Legendary for example. Now go to your Kai app data folder, Extract Legendary. Edit the CSS and images however you want, Now rezip the skin and rename it the same name as the one you were just using. In this example, Legendary.
Now clear your browser cache and restart kai, Your skin with changes will now appear.

Here's an example of a skin I made.
http://i27.tinypic.com/kbvr55.jpg

_________________
Image
KaiPlaysHere - Organized Competitive Gaming
Currently Running Halo 2 (1v1, 2v2 & 4v4) Ladders
www.sexyclan.net/league
View user's profileSend private message
[DC][)ragonfire
Kai Spammer
Kai Spammer


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1219

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 4:48 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Psssh, my skins get overwriten all the time...

Here is my first attempt at a modified webUI, its not much but its a start...

Image

I actually took this image just b4 the damn UI decided to update itself and therefore overwriting my custom UI Sad

EDIT: Here is my skin attempt...currently in progress...

Image

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private message
Lowbrassman04
Nintendo Specialist
Nintendo Specialist


Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 1887

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 3:49 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

prestige wrote:

Extract an existing skin .zip archive from your applications folder into the htdocs folder you just created. (ex: "C:\Documents and Settings\Your_Username\Application Data\XLink Kai\legendary.zip").


I dont have a directory called Application Data. Ran a search too and nothing came up. The only thing that is in my xlink folder is the engine launch, ui launch and the splash img file.

_________________
PM me for help
Award Winning Film Maker
http://www.youtube.com/cannon2004

Check out my website:
www.halfapplefilms.com
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
SgtLegend
TX Server Nerd
TX Server Nerd


Joined: 27 Nov 2007
Posts: 5257
Location: Melbourne, AU

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 4:04 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

heres a skin ive been working my ass off on that should be out soon

Image
View user's profileSend private message
-|iTs|-JaT
Kai Regular
Kai Regular


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 4:20 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

that's nice one legend

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private message
xXDestroyerGRXx
Kai Admirer
Kai Admirer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 316

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 4:35 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

omg pls give me the skin
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
dukeuk76
Team XLink Administrator
Team XLink Administrator


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 4058

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:17 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Very nice legend.

Im working on a COD4 Skin Razz

_________________
Kai/Psn/Xbl/steam/: dukeuk76
View user's profileSend private message
-|iTs|-JaT
Kai Regular
Kai Regular


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:38 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

duke_uk wrote:
Very nice legend.

Im working on a COD4 Skin Razz


yes duke!

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private message
[DC][)ragonfire
Kai Spammer
Kai Spammer


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1219

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 7:20 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

legend, on the topgreen, and submenu background images, make the right and left side blends better, u can still see the mismatch in the end colors Wink

other than that, looks very nice Very Happy

I will be releasing my X-Skin Blue sometime soon here... Wink

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private message
xXDestroyerGRXx
Kai Admirer
Kai Admirer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 316

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 8:25 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

i wish i could make my own skin Smile

btw i found a good splash thing

How to change the splash photo
TUTORIAL =

For example use this photo http://c.imagehost.org/0977/avatar38449_4.gif
then BACKUP THE ORIGINAL splash file
then rename the the photo "splash"
then restart xlink kai
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
Lowbrassman04
Nintendo Specialist
Nintendo Specialist


Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 1887

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 2:03 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Lowbrassman04 wrote:
prestige wrote:

Extract an existing skin .zip archive from your applications folder into the htdocs folder you just created. (ex: "C:\Documents and Settings\Your_Username\Application Data\XLink Kai\legendary.zip").


I dont have a directory called Application Data. Ran a search too and nothing came up. The only thing that is in my xlink folder is the engine launch, ui launch and the splash img file.


nvm i found it after everyone online told me it was a hidden folder lmao.

_________________
PM me for help
Award Winning Film Maker
http://www.youtube.com/cannon2004

Check out my website:
www.halfapplefilms.com
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
[OG]-Anarchy-
Kai Admirer
Kai Admirer


Joined: 20 Jun 2007
Posts: 487

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:33 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Lowbrassman04 wrote:
Lowbrassman04 wrote:
prestige wrote:

Extract an existing skin .zip archive from your applications folder into the htdocs folder you just created. (ex: "C:\Documents and Settings\Your_Username\Application Data\XLink Kai\legendary.zip").


I dont have a directory called Application Data. Ran a search too and nothing came up. The only thing that is in my xlink folder is the engine launch, ui launch and the splash img file.


nvm i found it after everyone online told me it was a hidden folder lmao.


lmfao good call lowbrass

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private message
-|GORDON|-
Kai Admirer
Kai Admirer


Joined: 18 Mar 2007
Posts: 471

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 5:54 am Reply with quoteBack to top

The halo 3 skin is a little messed up, the background doesn't show up anybody else got this?

_________________
Image
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
SgtLegend
TX Server Nerd
TX Server Nerd


Joined: 27 Nov 2007
Posts: 5257
Location: Melbourne, AU

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 6:07 am Reply with quoteBack to top

It has a couple of glitches which i need to fix so there should be an update for it soon.

@ Gordon. Run the h3 skin in --dev mode and it works fine
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Theme by Daz :: All times are GMT